[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[Duplicity-tracker] [patch #6380] add additional named logging levels

From: Peter Schuller
Subject: [Duplicity-tracker] [patch #6380] add additional named logging levels
Date: Sat, 19 Jan 2008 20:33:44 +0000
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; FreeBSD amd64; en-US; rv: Gecko/20071215 Firefox/


                 Summary: add additional named logging levels
                 Project: duplicity
            Submitted by: scode
            Submitted on: Saturday 01/19/2008 at 20:33
                Category: None
                Priority: 5 - Normal
                  Status: None
                 Privacy: Public
             Assigned to: None
        Originator Email: 
             Open/Closed: Open
         Discussion Lock: Any



I am doing some work on patch 6353 and once again got the urge to define some
more log levels, to go with FatalError and Warn.

I grepped around the code for current usage and felt a pretty natural mapping

Notice - 3 (visible by default).
Info   - 5 (used by most stuff that want to be verbose yet not detailed)
Debug  - 9 (used by most of remainder)

I think this maps pretty well onto syslog style levels and the meaning often
associated with them.

Levels 4, 6, 7 and 8 seem very rarely, if at all, used in the codebase.

This patch only adds the levels and does not change all the call sites (let's
see if people agree before anything like that is considered).

I mostly feel it warranted because I feel somewhat dirty using magic numbers
rather than named levels when writing new code.


File Attachments:

Date: Saturday 01/19/2008 at 20:33  Name: duplicity_log_namedlevels.diff 
Size: 720B   By: scode



Reply to this item at:


  Message sent via/by Savannah

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]